Rams Aim to Defend Atlantic 10 Title Saturday

Rams Aim to Defend Atlantic 10 Title Saturday

KINGSTON, R.I. – Rhode Island looks to defend its Atlantic 10 title when it travels to Pennsauken, N.J. for the conference championship this weekend.

When they head to the Cooper River in Pennsauken, N.J. Saturday, the Rams will look to win back-to-back titles for the second time in program history. Rhody accomplished the feat for the first time in the 2012 and 2013 seasons. All five of Rhode Island's league titles have come in the last nine seasons. Over that span, Massachusetts has won three titles and Saint Joseph's won one.

At last year's A-10 championship, it was a two-school showdown, as Rhode Island and Massachusetts had the top two boats in each of the scoring races. Both schools finished with 51 team points, but Rhode Island won in a tiebreaker because the Rams were victorious in the Varsity 8+ race.

Rhode Island saw Massachusetts earlier this season at the Doc Hosea Invitational. Each of Rhody's boats finished ahead of their UMass counterparts. Rhode Island also saw league competition at the George Washington Invitational, where GW, Saint Joseph's, Dayton and Duquesne all competed. GW, Rhody and Saint Joseph's finished second, third and fourth, respectively, at the event, all separated by just four points.

The A-10 champion earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship May 26-28 in West Windsor, N.J. Last season, the Rams finished 21st in the nation.

Race Schedule
8:00 a.m. – Heat #1 - Varsity 4 (La Salle, Saint Joseph's, Rhode Island, Fordham, George Mason)
8:20 a.m. – Heat #2 - Varsity 4 (Duquesne, George Washington, Massachusetts, Dayton)
8:40 a.m. – Heat #1 - Second Varsity 8 (Saint Joseph's, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Dayton)
9:00 a.m. – Heat #2 - Second Varsity 8 (Duquesne, George Washington, Fordham, George Mason)
9:20 a.m. – Heat #1 - Varsity 8 (Saint Joseph's, George Washington, Fordham, George Mason)
9:40 a.m. – Heat #2 - Varsity 8 (Dayton, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Duquesne)

9:50 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

10:30 a.m. – Grand Final - Third Varsity 8 (Duquesne, Rhode Island, George Washington, Saint Joseph's, Fordham)
10:50 a.m. – Petite Final - Varsity 4
11:10 a.m. – Grand Final - Varsity 4
11:30 a.m. – Petite Final - Second Varsity 8
11:50 a.m. – Grand Final - Second Varsity 8
12:10 p.m. – Petite Final - Varsity 8
12:30 p.m. – Grand Final - Varsity 8

Rhode Island Lineups
Varsity 8+
Cox      Karen Petrik
Stroke  Danielle Wolf
7 Seat  Katie Shattuck
6 Seat  Kiana Anderson
5 Seat  Erin Sweeney
4 Seat  Dana Holland
3 Seat  Meghan Ellis
2 Seat  Courtney Harrington
Bow     Kelsey Maymon

Second Varsity 8+
Cox      Lucy Moyes
Stroke  Mekenzie Mattheson
7 Seat  Allie Reilly
6 Seat  Erika Pena
5 Seat  Emily Winslow
4 Seat  Maddie Van Ummersen
3 Seat  Emily Ali
2 Seat  Brooke McMahon
Bow     Kelsey Williams

Varsity 4+
Cox     Casey Conley
Stroke Lauren Smith
3 Seat  Sage Iacovazzi
2 Seat  Ida Heggtveit
Bow     Jane Driscoll

Third Varsity 8+
Cox      Brenna Kelly
Stroke  Delaney Haggerty
7 Seat  Chandler Fisher
6 Seat  Stephanie Erlacher
5 Seat  Brooke Vergona
4 Seat  Miranda Peyton
3 Seat  Dana Schultes
2 Seat  Caroline Eastus
Bow     Brianna Zappula