Rams Sweeps Two-Time Defending A-10 Champion Massachusetts

Rams Sweeps Two-Time Defending A-10 Champion Massachusetts

AMHERST, Mass. – Rhode Island got its spring off to a strong start as it swept a series of races at two-time defending Atlantic 10 champion Massachusetts Saturday.

Racing with a fast tail current, the Varsity Four+ boat of Avery Cohen (cox), Lauren Smith, Chandler Fisher, Sage Iacovazzi and Allie Reilly got the Rams off to a solid start, beating a pair of UMass boats. Rhody finished in a time of 6:54.1, 3.5 seconds ahead of the UMass A boat.

Next up was the Second Varsity 8+ race, which was a back-and-forth affair. The lead changed several times throughout the race, but Rhode Island's team of Alissa Margraf (cox), Kelsey Maymon, Courtney Harrington, Laura Kilbane, Shannon McIsaac, Emily Engott, Sydney Beck, Danielle Wolf and Meghan Ellis pulled ahead in the final 10 strokes and won by a mere 1.1 seconds. Rhode Island had a time of 6:18.4.

The Rams kept the momentum going in the Varsity 8+ race, winning the race handily. The team of Carly Amurao (cox), Lily Herberger, Alicia Kelley, Emmy Corace, Dana Holland, Marisa Landry, Kiana Anderson, Katie Shattuck and Leah McGlynn beat the Massachusetts boat by nearly 12 seconds. Rhode Island had a time of 6:05.5, while the Minutewomen finished in 6:17/1.

In the final race of the day, Rhode Island's Third Varsity 8+ had an impressive debut.
Lucy Moyes (cox), Summer Johnson, Mekenzie Mattheson, Hannah Boris, Erika Pena, Amber Abderrazzaq, ​Delaney Haggerty, Sofia Capua and Elizabeth Bushey finished in 6:40.2, beating the Massachusetts boat by 12.9 seconds.

Next weekend Rhode Island will compete at the Doc Hosea Invitational Regatta in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. Sunday, April 3. Rhody will see Boston University, Cornell, Dartmouth, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Navy, Northeastern, Penn and Syracuse.

Varsity 8+
Record – 1-0

Carly Amurao (cox)
Lily Herberger
Alicia Kelley
Emmy Corace
Dana Holland
Marisa Landry
Kiana Anderson
Katie Shattuck
Leah McGlynn

Second Varsity 8+
Record – 1-0
Alissa Margraf (cox)
Kelsey Maymon
Courtney Harrington
Laura Kilbane
Shannon McIsaac
Emily Engott
Sydney Beck
Danielle Wolf
Meghan Ellis

Varsity 4+

Record – 2-0
Avery Cohen (cox)
Lauren Smith
Chandler Fisher
Sage Iacovazzi
Allie Reilly

Third Varsity 8+
Record – 1-0
Lucy Moyes (cox)
Summer Johnson
Mekenzie Mattheson
Hannah Boris
Erika Pena
Amber Abderrazzaq
​Delaney Haggerty
Sofia Capua
Elizabeth Bushey