Rhode Island Set To Host Atlantic 10 Indoor Track & Field Championships

Feb. 20, 2003

KINGSTON, R.I. - On February 22, 2003 the Rhode Island Rams men's and women's track teams are looking to defend their 2002 Atlantic 10 Indoor Track & Field Championship titles on their home track, Mackal Field House.

Rhode Island's men's team is ready to fight for their third consecutive title after last season's win over Saint Joseph's (138), third place La Salle (129) and fourth place Massachusetts (133). The Rams men's squad will be lead by junior Colin Aina (East Providence, R.I.) last year's conference champion in the 55m high hurdles and long jump, who also qualified on February 8, 2003 as a NCAA provisional athlete in the 55m high hurdles (7.30), senior William Johnston (Warwick, R.I.) last years indoor runner up in the weight throw and outdoor champion in the hammer who also holds the conference's current top distance in the weight throw (57-08 1/2) and sophomore Evan Lima (Warwick, R.I.) who last season jumped a personal best at the indoor championships and this season is currently tied for the top jump (6-9) in the high jump with Fordam's Ryan Davis.

The Rhode Island women will be looking to grab their fourth consecutive title after nudging out La Salle (101.5), third place Richmond (100.5) and fourth place Temple (99.0) at last year's A-10 Championships. The Rams will be lead by junior Heidi Westerling (Charlestown, N.H) last years Atlantic 10 Champion in the 5000m, sophomore Rachel Oakes (Scotia, N.Y.) last years Atlantic 10 200m Champion and Rookie Performer of the Meet.

The men's meet will begin at 9:45 a.m. with Rhode Island, Fordam, La Salle, Richmond, Saint Joseph's and Temple. The women's meet will follow at 2:30 p.m. featuring Rhode Island, Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, La Salle, Massachusetts, Richmond, Saint Joseph's and Temple.

Atlantic 10 Men's and Women's Indoor Track & Field Championships
Men's Champ.				Women's Champ.
2002	Rhode Island	192.00		2002	Rhode Island	123.50
2001	Rhode Island	222.00		2001	Rhode Island	160.33
2000	Virginia Tech	246.00		2000	Rhode Island	146.75
1999	Virginia Tech	212.00		1999	Virginia Tech	143.00

For a complete listing of previous championships please visit www.atlantic10.org.