Men's Track Finishes Third At Atlantic 10 Championship

Feb. 19, 2000

Box Score

KINGSTON, R.I. - For the fourth consecutive year, Virginia Tech claimed the Bell Atlantic Atlantic 10 Men's Indoor Track & Field Championship Saturday at the Mackal Field House on the campus of the University of Rhode Island.

On the men's side, Virginia Tech scored a conference-record 246 to take top honors, while Massachusetts placed second with 126 and Rhode Island finished third with 112 points. Tech's Andre Davis was named the meet's Most Outstanding Performer after winning the 55-meter and 200-meter dash. Stefan Russ of Massachusetts was named Most Outstanding Rookie, while Virginia Tech's Russ Whitenack was named Men's Coach of the Year.

Six conference records were broken in the men's meet, two of which were by Virginia Tech's Andre Davis, who ran a 6.30 in the 55-meter dash, and Edward Boes, who posted a 64'10.50" in the weight throw to eclipse the old mark (60'05.75") by more than four feet. St. Joseph's Karl Savage set the record in the one-mile run with a 4:11.28, while Rhode Island's Dustin Kuzma ran a 1:02.72 in the 500-meter dash. Massachsuetts' Vic Morency set the shot put record with a 56'11.50", while St. Joseph's set a conference record (10:13.45) in the distance medley relay. Davis also posted a NCAA provisional qualifying time of 21.65 in the 200-meter dash.

Men's Results

1.    Virginia Tech    246
2.    Massachusetts    126
3.    Rhode Island     112
4.    St. Joseph's     89
5.    La Salle         59
6.    Fordham          50
7.    Temple           12

All-Conference Team (Men): Stefan Russ (UM - High Jump), Brett Matthews (URI - Pole Vault), Ernest Wilford (VT - Triple Jump), Darryl McCoy (VT - Long Jump), Edward Boes (VT - Weight Throw), Vic Morency (UM - Shot Put), Kevin Walker (VT - 55m Hurdles), Andre Davis (VT - 55m Dash), Chris Seaton (VT - 5000m Run), Karl Savage (SJU - Mile Run), Clinton Edwards (VT - 400m Dash), Dustin Kuzma (URI - 500m Dash), Matt Taylor (VT - 800m Run), Paul Hayes (VT - 1000m Run), Andre Davis (VT - 200m Dash), Kevin Curtin (UM - 3000m Run), Brian Rosetti, Kevin Beck, Jeff Storch, Ben Koch (SJU - Distance Medley Relay), Marc Maccario, Shawn Magee, Mike McCabe, Geoff Valentine (SJU - 1600m Relay), Ali Najjar, Brian Coffield, Todd Grignon, Matt Taylor (VT - 3200m Relay).

Most Outstanding Performer: Andre Davis, Virginia Tech
Most Outstanding Rookie: Stefan Russ, Massachusetts
Coach of the Year: Russ Whitenack, Virginia Tech