Bjorn to represent CAA On NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee

Bjorn to represent CAA On NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee

KINGSTON, R.I. – Rhode Island Director of Athletics Thorr Bjorn will represent CAA Football on the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee.

Bjorn will serve a four-team term on the committee, which consists of one representative from each conference that is eligible and applies for automatic qualification (AQ) and is granted an AQ to participate in the Division I Football Championship.

"The CAA is very excited to have URI Athletics Director Thorr Bjorn as our representative on the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee," CAA Commissioner Joe D'Antonio said.  "Thorr follows a long line of athletics directors who have admirably served the conference in this role. There is no doubt in my mind that the CAA membership and FCS football will greatly benefit from Thorr's tenacity, work ethic, integrity and attention to detail."

Committee members attend an in-person meetings in Indianapolis that are held Nov. 16-18 and again from Feb. 12-13. They also attend the Division I Football Championship Subdivision Championship Game in Frisco, Texas and serve as site representatives for each round of the FCS playoffs. They also participate in conference calls throughout the FCS season.

"I am so honored to have been chosen by the other athletic directors in the CAA to represent such a great league as a member of the Football Championship Subdivision selection committee," Bjorn said. "I have such great respect for this league, from my time as a player at the University of Massachusetts and throughout my 28 years as an administrator both at UMass and Rhode Island." 

For committees that administer championships in team sports, at least 50 percent of the positions on each sport's committee shall be filled by athletics administrators (i.e., athletics directors, associate or assistant athletics directors, senior woman administrators, individuals who are employed full-time as administrators by member conferences, or individuals who are employed both part-time as administrators by member conferences and full-time by member institutions)

Active coaches are not be considered for this committee due to the timing of the majority of the committee's work. Members shall be appointed for one four-year term and may be reappointed for a second four-year term only after being off the committee for three consecutive years. Terms of committee members are staggered to promote consistency and ensure historical knowledge.

Bjorn's appointment to the committee comes on the heels of Rhode Island's commitment to installing synthetic turf and lights at Meade Stadium. The $4.1 million project was made possible by a pair of $1 million donations from URI alumni, the largest gifts in the history of the football program.