Matthews Named to Jerry West Award Watch List

Matthews Named to Jerry West Award Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – For the third time in his career, Rhode Island senior guard E.C. Matthews has been recognized as one of the top shooting guards in America, earning a spot on the 2018 Jerry West Award Preseason Watch List.

Announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Tuesday afternoon, the Jerry West Award watch list recognizes the top 20 shooting guards in Division I men's college basketball.

Named after the Naismith Basketball Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four MVP, the annual honor is now in its fourth year.

"Jerry West is one of the best shooting guards to ever play the game and by far one of the most competitive personalities in the game as well," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "These 20 collegiate athletes have worked tirelessly to earn their spots on this watch list and have shown similar work ethics and skills as the esteemed Jerry West."

A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players will be narrowed down to 10 players.  In March, the five finalists will be announced.

The winner of the 2018 Jerry West Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles on Friday, April 6, 2018.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).

For more information on the 2018 Jerry West Award, log onto

2018 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates 
Allonzo Trier - Arizona
Mustapha Heron - Auburn
Jerome Robinson - Boston College 
TJ Haws - BYU
Marcus Foster - Creighton
Grayson Allen - Duke
KeVaughn Allen - Florida
Rob Gray - Houston
Malik Newman - Kansas
Hamidou Diallo - Kentucky
Bruce Brown Jr. - Miami 
Lonnie Walker - Miami 
Quinndary Weatherspoon - Mississippi State
E.C. Matthews - Rhode Island
Khadeen Carrington - Seton Hall 
Shamorie Ponds - St. John's
Tyus Battle - Syracuse
Andrew Jones - Texas
De'Anthony Melton - USC
Daxter Miles Jr. - West Virginia

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season