E.C. Matthews Named to the 2016-17 Jerry West Award Watchlist

E.C. Matthews Named to the 2016-17 Jerry West Award Watchlist

KINGSTON, R.I. -- For the third consecutive season, E.C. Matthews has been named to the Jerry West Award Watch List.  The junior guard is one of 20 players recognized nationally.

Now in its third year, the Jerry West Award is named after the Naismith Basketball Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player and is presented to the top shooting guard in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Matthews will return to the court after suffering a season-ending knee injury early in the first half of the 2015-16 opener vs. American.  He was selected to the 2016-17 Atlantic 10 preseason all-conference second team on Oct. 18 and has been listed among the top players in the A-10 by virtually every major national media outlet.

As a sophomore during the 2014-15 season, Matthews averaged 16.9 points per game and earned All-A-10 second team honors while also being selected to the USBWA All-District I and NABC All-District 4 teams.  He sits at 999 career points and is set to become the 52nd member of Rhode Island's 1,000 point club.

The 2016-17 Jerry West Award watchlist will be narrowed down to 10 in mid-February and then five finalists will be selected in March that will be presented to Jerry West and the selection committee. The winner of this award will be presented at the Third Annual ESPN College Basketball Awards Show, live from The Novo in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7.

Throughout this whole process, the list will be fluid and players will have the ability to play their selves on or off the list until the final five finalists are announced.  The 2016-17 watchlist is comprised of the following student-athletes:

Allonzo Trier (Arizona); Dusty Hannahs (Arkansas); Nick Emery (BYU); Jacob Evans (Cincinnati); Charles Cooke (Dayton); Grayson Allen (Duke); Jordan Matthews (Gonzaga); Malcolm Hill (Illinois); James Blackmon Jr. (Indiana); Peter Jok (Iowa); Devonte' Graham (Kansas): Malik Monk (Kentucky); Antonio Blakeney (LSU); Donovan Mitchell (Louisville); Eron Harris (Michigan St.); Elijah Brown (New Mexico); Tyler Dorsey (Oregon); Shake Milton (SMU); Isaac Hamilton (UCLA)

Last season, Oklahoma's Buddy Hield was named the winner of the Jerry West Award.  For more information on the Jerry West Award, log onto HoophallAwards.com.