Field Set for NCAA Women's Basketball Championship

KINGSTON, R.I. - Now that the field is set for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, here is a quick look at each of the 16 teams with a chance to play at the Ryan Center in the Sweet 16 and Elite Eight rounds.

1. Connecticut
– Ranked No. 3 in the country in both polls, the Huskies (29-4) are the top seed in the Kingston bracket. UConn has unrivaled success in the tournament, having won five of the last 10 NCAA titles, and have the best-ever winning percentage in tournament play at 82-16 (.837) all time. Dating back to 1994, Connecticut has either won the title or reached the championship game 11 times.

2. Kentucky – The Wildcats (25-6) are in the dance for the third straight year, finishing the regular season ranked No. 12 in the AP poll and No. 11 in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll. The No. 2 matches the highest in school history. Kentucky advanced to the Elite Eight in 2010, and is 8-8 all-time in the tournament. The Wildcats are one of eight teams from the SEC in this year’s field.

3. Miami (Fla.) – The Hurricanes (25-5) reached the highest national ranking in school history earlier this season when they were No. 5 in February, and finished the year No 8 in the AP poll and No. 9 in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll. Miami earned a No. 3 seed for the second straight year. Last season, the Hurricanes lost to Oklahoma in the second round. Miami is 3-11 all time in the tournament.

4. Penn State – In the field for the second straight season, Penn State (24-6) is in the NCAA tournament for the 23rd time overall. Ranked No. 11 by the AP and No. 12 in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll, the Lady Lions won the Big Ten regular season title. All time they are 27-22 in the NCAA tournament.

5. LSU -  After missing out on the tournament last season, LSU (22-10) returned to the field for the 21st time in school history. The Tigers are the No. 5 seed on the strength of a late season surge in which they reached the SEC tournament finals before falling to Tennessee. Overall, LSU us 38-20 in the tournament, and it has won 13 straight first-round games.

6. Rutgers – Ranked No. 23 in the AP poll and No. 20 in the in the ESPN/USA Today Coaches poll, Rutgers (22-9) is in the field for the 10th straight year, and the 14th time under head coach Vivian Stringer. With an overall record of 35-22 in the tournament, Rutgers has a knack for winning early round games, having advanced to at least the second round sox out of the last seven years.

7. Green Bay – Ranked No. 10 in both polls, Green Bay’s No. 7 seeding is a bit lower than expected. The Phoenix (30-1) are dancing for the fourth year in a row after winning both the regular season and tournament championships in the Horizon League. A year ago, Green Bay advanced to the Sweet 16 before falling to top-seeded Baylor.

8. Kansas State – Kansas State (19-13) is making its 13th appearance in the NCAA tournament. It sports a 10-12 mark all time in the tournament.

9. Princeton – The Ivy League Tigers (23-9) finished No. 24 in the AP poll and earned the conference’s highest seeding ever with the No. 9 slot. They are the first-ever Ivy League women’s team to be ranked after earning a third straight automatic bid with a second straight unbeaten season in conference play.

10. Iowa State – The No. 10 seed in the region, Iowa State got in with an 18-12 record overall, and a 9-9 mark in the Big 12. The Cyclones started conference play 0-5, but a strong stretch run put them in the field for the 13th time. Four of Iowa State’s league losses came against top-ranked Baylor and defending national champion Texas A&M.

11. Gonzaga – Despite being the No. 11 seed in the region, Gonzaga will host No. 6 Rutgers at the McCarthey Athletic Center, its home facility. The eight-time defending regular season champs in the West Coast Conference, Gonzaga (26-5) has reached the Elite Eight last season and the Sweet 16 in 2010.

12. San Diego State – San Diego State earned its third trip to the NCAA tournament in the last four years, and its ninth appearance overall. The Aztecs (25-6) won the Mountain West Conference title by beating New Mexico in the conference finals. San Diego State reached the Sweet 16 in 2010, and won its opening round game in 2009.

13. UTEP – The Miners won both the regular season and tournament championships in the Conference USA en route to a 29-3 record. The win total was a new record both for the school and the conference.

14. Idaho State – The No. 14 seed in the regional earned a spot in the tournament by winning the Big Sky Conference’s automatic bid. This is the third appearance for the Bengals (24-7).

15. McNeese State – The Cowgirls (26-7) are making their second straight appearance in the dance after winning their second Southland Conference Tournament in a row.

16. Prarie View – The two-time defending Southwestern Athletic Conference earned its way into the NCAA tournament by winning six straight games. The Panthers (17-15) are in the dance for the second time under second-year coach Toyelle Wilson.

Fans can be part of the action by ordering tickets for the East Regional on There are all-session and single-session packages available. Order online or by calling the Ryan Center Box Office at 401.874.7267. Tickets may also be purchased in person at the box office, which is open Monday through Friday 10 a.m. until 6 p.m., and Saturdays from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m.

All-Session Ticket Packages (includes all three tournament games)
Adults - $50
Youth/Student - $35
Groups (20 or more) - $40*
*Please call 401.874.7267 for group orders.

Single-Session Ticket Packages (Either the Sweet 16 or the Elite 8)
Adults - $30
Youth/Student - $20
Groups (20 or more) - $25*
*Please call 401.874.7267 for group orders.