Self Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year Award

Self Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year Award

KINGSTON, R.I. — Rhode Island's Layne Self is one of 13 student-athletes from the Atlantic 10 Conference to be nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award, announced today by the conference office. 

One of the most prestigious NCAA awards, the NCAA established the Woman of the Year Award in 1991 to celebrate the achievements of women in intercollegiate athletics. Now in its 27th year, the NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

The A-10's nominees - who represent nine different sports and 11 different league institutions - are recognized for being standout citizens with robust academic success, complimented by competitive athletic resumes, while sustaining dynamic leadership in their communities.

A four-year starter on the Rhody volleyball team as well as a 2016 team captain, Self was a three-time Atlantic 10 All-Conference Performer during her time with the Rams. She also collected seven A-10 Defensive Player of the Week awards throughout her career, and was named to the 2016 AVCA All-East Region team, becoming URI's first All-Region player since 2001.

In the rally-scoring era, the Hawthorn Woods, Ill. native ranks first at Rhode Island in career blocks – with 491 – and is 6th in career kills, with 961. She also owns the program's top three single-season totals for blocks, as well as URI's single-game record.

As part of Rhody's winningest senior class in nearly two decades, Self helped lead the Rams to 71 victories through her four years in Kingston, as well as back-to-back appearances in the Atlantic 10 semifinals.

A Nursing major, she also spent three weeks volunteering in Ghana with different healthcare organizations through "Work the World".

Each of the Atlantic 10's 13 candidates have noteworthy credentials, including All-America and Academic All-America honors, conference championships and All-Conference awards, NCAA Championship success, and campus involvement, including serving as student-athlete leaders. 

In addition to Self, the Atlantic 10's 12 other nominees are: Elise Lankiewicz (Davidson/Swimming & Diving), Gabrielle Snyder (Dayton/Softball), Autumn Greba (Duquesne/Cross Country/Track & Field), Amadea Szamosi (Duquesne/Women's Basketball), Nicole Bates (Fordham/Soccer), Michelle Wallerstedt (George Mason/Track & Field), Chelsea Raineri (George Washington/Gymnastics), Mary Allen (Richmond/Women's Track & Field), Leslie Espenschied (Richmond/Lacrosse), Jennifer Morris (St. Bonaventure/Soccer), Emily Gingrich (Saint Joseph's/Soccer), Kacey Bright (Saint Louis/Soccer)

The league's Senior Woman Administrators will vote on 12 of the nominees to select two who will represent the Atlantic 10 Conference as 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year finalists. One nominee, gymnast Chelsea Raineri of George Washington, competes in a sport which is not sponsored by the Atlantic 10, and will be considered from among a national pool of candidates. 

Next, conferences assess their member school nominees and select up to two conference nominees. The Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will then choose the top 30 honorees - 10 from each division.

From the top 30, the selection committee determines the top three honorees from each division and announces the nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics then chooses from among those nine to determine the 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year.

The top 30 honorees will be recognized and the 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced at the annual award ceremony Oct. 22 in Indianapolis.