Rhode Island Finishes Day One of New England Championship

Rhode Island Finishes Day One of New England Championship

Meet Information:

New England Outdoor Championship

Host: Williams College - Williamstown, Mass.

The University of Rhode Island men's track & field team wrapped up day one of the NEICAAA Championship with 49 points, led by a pair of individual champions.


  • Ondrej Honka and Ryan Wilkes were named co-champions in the pole vault with heights of 5.08 meters (16' 8").
  • Casey Burley took second in the long jump with a leap of 7.12 meters (23' 4.5"). Childress Cannon finished sixth (22' 1.5").
  • Joseph Mattson took fourth in the hammer with 57.01 meters (187' 0"). Olusegun Vadis finished fifth (179' 4") and Brandon Amo seventh (178' 9").
  • Gregory Mcmanus finished sixth in the javelin throw with a distance of 60.21 meters (197' 6").
  • Nicholas Celico ran the 5000-meter in 15:15.72 for 17th place.


  • Nigel Hill finished first in the 100-meter prelims with a time of 10.66 seconds.
  • DeAngelo Berry took fifth (10.74 seconds) and Joseph Carter took sixth (10.76 seconds) in the 100-meter prelims, qualifying for tomorrow's finals.
  • Hill also finished first in the 200-meter prelims in 21.39 seconds.
  • Carter is also competing in the 200-meter finals after taking fifth in the prelims (21.60 seconds).
  • Marlon Montague took first in the 400-meter prelims with 48.15 seconds.
  • Jared Gray (48.67 seconds) and Jaleel Felton (48.89 seconds) also qualified for the 400-meter finals.
  • John Stallworth finished second in the 110-meter hurdles prelims with a time of 14.25 seconds.
  • Adam Franklin also qualified for tomorrow's 110-meter hurdles finals with a tie for seventh in the prelim (14.69 seconds).
  • Franklin also finished second in the 400-meter hurdles prelims with 52.51 seconds.
  • Max Dickens qualified for tomorrow's finals as well with a time of 53.34 seconds.

Up Next
The conclusion of the New England Outdoor Championship will be tomorrow, May 13. The day is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. with the remainder of the decathlon events.