Greenhalgh Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Greenhalgh Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Sept. 20, 2011

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team release

KINGSTON, R.I. -- Junior Matt Greenhalgh is one of 22 football student-athletes nationally named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

One of the most prestigious off-the field honors in college football for the past 20 years, the Good Works Team award has recognized a select group of college football players committed to making a difference in their communities.

This past April, Greenhalgh donated his bone marrow to help save a life.

"This has been the most gratifying thing I have ever done," Greenhalgh said at the time. "It just makes me feel so great to know that I have been able to help save someone's life."

Fans will be able to vote for an Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain by visiting and searching "Good Works." By viewing the player profiles on the website, fans can learn more about this year's team members and their selfless acts of kindness. The Team Captain and his fellow award recipients will be invited to New Orleans to take part in a special volunteer project leading up to the 2012 Allstate Sugar Bowl.

A program record 132 players were nominated for the award this summer. From the nominations, a special voting panel, including former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and current college football broadcasters, selected 22 players from across the country to the team.

Of the two 11-member teams, one comprises players competing in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and the other is a combined team representing the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA.

The 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes several former Good Works Team members including former University of Pittsburgh quarterback Alex Van Pelt, former University of Georgia offensive lineman Matt Stinchcomb and former University of Notre Dame defensive lineman Grant Irons. ESPN personalities Lou Holtz, who also serves as the national ambassador for the program, and Rece Davis are also a part of the voting panel, joined by current AFCA president and Montana State University Head Coach Rob Ash, 1987 AFCA President and former Brigham Young University Head Coach LaVell Edwards and Allstate executive vice president Mark LaNeve.