April 5, 2010

Rhody Football Opens Spring Practice

April 5, 2010


KINGSTON, R.I. - The Rhode Island football team returned to the practice field this past weekend as it opened spring practice under the direction of second-year head coach Joe Trainer.

Rhody will practice four days a week and will conclude its spring schedule on Saturday April 24 as it plays host to the annual Blue-White game at Meade Stadium, beginning at 11 a.m. inside Meade Stadium.

This spring the Rams welcome back eight starters on offense, including quarterback Chris Paul-Etienne, who closed out the 2009 season on a high note he averaged 236.7 passing yards per game, threw 10 touchdowns and had just three interceptions in his final four games a year ago.

Rhody also welcomes back wide receiver Brandon Johnson-Farrell to the mix. Johnson-Farrell returns after an injury plagued 2009 campaign, which limited him to just four games. As a freshman in 2008, the Maryland native led the squad in receptions with 57 en route to earning All-CAA honors.

Defensively, the Rams return nine starters led by Sports Network All-American and All-CAA honoree Rob Damon. In 2009, Damon started every game at linebacker and led the CAA in tackles, averaging 11.3 stops per game (124 total tackles). In addition, the New Jersey native posted 14.0 tackles for loss, which ranked fifth in the CAA.

Please visit GoRhody.com for news, recaps, interviews and photos from spring ball.

2010 Rhode Island Spring Practice Schedule (Times subject to change)
Monday, April 5 - 3:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 7 - 3:45 p.m.
Friday, April 9 - 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, April 10 - 1 p.m.
Monday, April 12 - 3:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 14 - 3:45 p.m.
Friday, April 16 - 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, April 17 - 9 a.m.
Monday, April 19 - 3:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 21 - 3:45 p.m.
Friday, April 23 - 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, April 24 Blue White Game - 11 a.m.