Training Camp Schedule Set; 2018 Officially Starts Aug. 1

Training Camp Schedule Set; 2018 Officially Starts Aug. 1

KINGSTON, R.I. – The 2018 season officially gets underway in three when Rhode Island holds its first practice of training camp on Wednesday, Aug. 1.

Head coach Jim Fleming and his team will hold 17 practices plus a pair of full-speed scrimmages during camp this summer. Fans are invited to come watch the practices sessions, which are free to attend. Each practice is scheduled to begin at 2:30 p.m. and will run for approximately two hours. The scrimmages will be held Saturday, Aug. 11 at 2:30 p.m. and Monday, Aug. 20 at 9:30 a.m., both in Meade Stadium.

Before the team reports for training camp, Fleming, senior safety D.J. Stewart and redshirt senior quarterback JaJuan Lawson will represent the team at the 2018 CAA Football Media Day in Baltimore on Tuesday, July 24. More information about CAA Football Media Day will be available soon.

Fans interested in attending any practice sessions should RSVP with Director of Football Operations Brandon Tuozzolo at either btutz@uri.edu or 401.874.2406. All practice times are subject to change.

2018 Football Training Camp Schedule
Wednesday, Aug. 1 – 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 2 – 2:30 p.m. 
Friday, Aug. 3 – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 4 – 2:30 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 6 – 2:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 7 – 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 8 – 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 9 – 2:30 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 10 – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 11 – Scrimmage, 2:30 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 13 – 2:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 14 – 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 15 – 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 16 – 2:30 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 17 – 2:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 18 – 2:30 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 20 – Scrimmage, 9:30 a.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 21 – 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 22 – 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 23 – Team Picture Day (Final Day of Camp)