Corin, Hess & O'Neil Earn ECAC First-Team Accolades

Corin, Hess & O'Neil Earn ECAC First-Team Accolades

KINGSTON, R.I. - Redshirt seniors Mike Corin and Matt O'Neil, as well as redshirt junior Chris Hess, have earned All-ECAC First Team honors, announced Wednesday morning.

Corin wrapped up his collegiate career as Rhode Island's single-season leader for home runs (19) and was one homer shy of matching Rhody's career record of 30 (Mike LeBel; 2009-13). He also turned in a team-best .646 slugging percentage and tied for the team lead in RBI, with 51. A native of North Providence, R.I., Corin finished the season with a .302 (57-189) batting average and a team-high 25 walks. 

Hess was the only player on Rhode Island's roster to appear and start in each of URI's 53 games this season. He led Rams with 33 extra-base hits (22 doubles, 3 triples, 8 home runs) and finished the season ranked third all-time at URI with 82 career extra-base hits (46 doubles, 19 triples, 17 home runs). The North Kingstown, R.I. native hit .347 for the season, registering team-highs in hits (77), runs scored (44) and stolen bases (12). Defensively, he helped turn 21 double plays this season.

O'Neil enjoyed a career year in his final season with the Rams, setting new single-season bests in every single offensive category. He tied for the team lead in runs batted in (51), ranked second in home runs (13) and third in doubles (10). He hit a 14th-inning walk-off grand slam against Fordham on April 30, and also smacked an extra-inning walk-off home run against Brown on April 11. The East Longmeadow, Mass. product finished the season hitting .310, after posting a .197 batting average a year ago.

The Rhody trio also earned Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team accolades as well as NEIBA All-New England First Team honors.

About the ECAC
The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) is the nation's largest and only multi-divisional conference, with 306 member institutions (87 Division I) ranging across 20 states from Maine to North Carolina and west to Missouri. Seven Atlantic 10 schools are members of the ECAC: Duquesne, Fordham, George Washington, La Salle, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Saint Joseph's.